Benefit of the doubt…

Knowing my lovely friend’s wedding was coming up I had to pick up a few makeup essentials (of course) for the big day.  I was in Boots (again – and yes I do have a home) and I knew face powder was going to be a must to keep my makeup on my face all day and night and so I also didn’t turn into a walking disco ball.

I hadn’t picked up much from the Benefit counter for a while and remembered there was a little buzz about the relatively new POREfessional: Agent Zero Shine powder.

IMG_0672[1]

This was a grab and just get the heck out of there moment because at £23.50, it’s not the cheapest face powder to ever grace my face.  For this price though, I was expecting a lot from this product.

Now, I don’t not like this stuff but it’s just so… fiddly. The brush comes out of the bottom which is a good idea because then you don’t have to carry round a separate one, but then you unscrew that, then you have to unscrew the top where the powder comes out, turn the bottle over to sprinkle powder into the lid and it just goes everywhere! By the time you come to put the product on your face, half of it is all over your dress/lap/significant other. Delete as appropriate.

IMG_0678[1] IMG_0680[1] IMG_0681[1] IMG_0682

The actual powder itself is quite good and works really well to mattify the skin and take away any unwanted shine, but I don’t think it’s anything special.  Not £23.50 special, anyway.  Cheaper drugstore alternatives like Rimmel Stay Matte or the Soap & Glory One Heck Of A Blot work just as well and are a fraction of the cost.  The brush inside was OK – it’s a nice size for getting all over the face and the quality was decent enough.

Aesthetically the packaging is cute and in general a good concept but another problem with this powder is that it doesn’t have a mirror so you have to carry around that too if you’re on the go, making the whole ‘everything-in-one-package’ selling point seem a bit moot.

Overall I’ve found this product to be style over substance and just a tad gimmicky.  You should be able to throw a face powder into your bag and go to easily touch up later and this is just too much hard work for this product.

I’ll continue to use it in my routine but it’s not a permanent fixture in my handbag, it has to stay at home.  Has anyone grounded a face powder before….?

Leave a Reply

